Join me (online) at the Railway Modellers Meet of British Columbia!

Do you want to know more about why I switched to S scale back in 2011, why I picked the CNR Simcoe Subdivision to Port Rowan as my subject, why I like to blog, or something else?

Now’s your chance – and you don’t even need to leave your chair – at the Virtual Railway Modellers Meet of BC.

This online meet will take place over four Thursday evenings starting May 21st, with two presentations per evening. I will be delivering the first presentation on the first day – May 21st, at 7:00pm Pacific Time (10:00 pm Eastern Time).

I’m presenting a clinic called “When I’m 1:64 – Prototype Modelling in a Minority Scale”…

… but I will speak broadly enough that the presentation should help anybody who is thinking about switching scales, gauges, eras, themes, countries, or other interests in the hobby and is wondering how to go about doing that.

Topics I’ll cover include:

  • “What the heck are you doing in 1:64?” (It took at least three prototypes and several layouts…)
  • “Port Rowan? Never heard of it!” (What I’m modelling, and why…)
  • “If I didn’t have all this HO…” (What’s available in 1:64, and resources to help modellers make an informed choice…)
  • “You like to Blog: I can tell.” (Why writing and sharing is as important as rail…)

And if you manage to stay awake through all of that, I’ll finish with a photographic tour of Port Rowan in 1:64, plus a question and answer session.

I was going to deliver this clinic in person at the convention before COVID-19 changed everything. I’m impressed that the organizing committee was able to quickly regroup and put together this online meet and I’m pleased I can contribute.

To find out more about this virtual meet, visit the RRMBC website – and if you’re interested in attending, be sure to let them know!

Published by Trevor

Lifelong model railway enthusiast and retired amateur shepherd who trained a border collie to work sheep. Professional writer and editor, with some podcasting and Internet TV presenting work thrown in for good measure.